O. M. Miller Cartographic Medal

Osborn Maitland Miller MedalThe O. M. Miller Cartographic Medal was founded by the AGS Council in 1968 for outstanding contributions in the field of cartography or geodesy.  It was named for Mr. Miller who had recently retired from the AGS staff after 46 years.  Mr. Miller was responsible for initiating a School of Surveying at the Society.  His work brought to geographical science new map projections, original survey methods and instrumentation, pioneer developments in aerial photography and photogrammetry and new cartographic techniques.


1968 Richard Edes Harrison
1989 Waldo R. Tobler
1997 Maidarjavyn Ganzorig
1998 Chen Shupeng
1998 Arthur H. Robinson
2001 Mark Monmonier